Login NowClose 
Sign In to ftimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Prairie honors fall athletes

1 / 5
CROSS COUNTRY: Clinton Prairie cross country runners who won team awards included, from left, Logan Barrett (most valuable player), Zoe Beard (most improved), Christian Mathias (sportsmanship award), Melody Tolley (most valuable player and sportsmanship award) and Wesley Whitlock (most improved).
2 / 5
FOOTBALL: Clinton Prairie players winning team awards included, from left, Dakoda Black (most improved), Coltyn Vandergriff (defensive most valuable player), Jacob Fullerton (offensive most valuable player) and Sam Gonzales (sportsmanship).
3 / 5
VOLLEYBALL: Clinton Prairie volleyball players winning team awards included, from left, Sarah Schoonveld (most aces), Kylee Maish (sportsmanship award and most digs), Alyssa Lukasik (most valuable player, most kills and most blocks), Kylie Rapp (most assists) and Lexi Collins (most improved).
4 / 5
GIRLS GOLF: Clinton Prairie golfers who won team awards included, from left, Tatum Neal (most valuable player), Emma Price (most improved) and Layne Snyder (sportsmanship award).
5 / 5
CHEERLEADING: Clinton Prairie cheerleaders winning team awards included, from left, Mallory Robertson (sportsmanship award), Allie Marchand (most improved) and Sadie Smith (most valuable).

BY ANDREW KRULL - akrull@ftimes.com

Clinton Prairie athletic director Brian Eaton recognized a record-breaker, a sectional champion and qualifier, all-state scholastic athletes and 103 student-athletes who represented Clinton Prairie well during the school’s fall sports banquet on Monday night.

“We also had a (school) record broken with Melody Tolley,” Eaton said of the cross country runner who broke the school’s girls time record set last year by fellow junior Rebekah Lloyd. “We also had a sectional champion.”

That announcement brought “whoops” from the crowd for the volleyball team that won the school’s first sectional in that sport since 2003. Eaton also praised how all the athletes represented the school overall.

“I think our entire community, our coaches and myself are certainly proud of how you represent our school,” he said.

Eaton also recognized two volleyball players who earned academic all-state honors in Kylie Rapp and Sarah Schoonveld, noting “we’re hoping for a few more we just haven’t heard yet.”

He also recognized the girls cross country team for winning its fourth conference championship in a row and also qualifying for regionals, as well as the volleyball team for bringing home a conference championship.

Eaton also noted the school was currently tied for first in the girls’ all-sports conference standings despite not having a soccer program, had 17 all-conference athletes and 11 academic all-conference athletes and two semi-state qualifiers in Tolley and Lloyd, as well as regional boys cross country qualifiers in Tony Perez and Logan Barrett.

Individuals recognized during Monday’s event included the following.

First-time letter winners

Cheerleading – Allie Marchand; cross country – Abby Woodard, Mariah Burton, Zoe Beard, Bryce Padgett, Braden Martin and Alexander Brettnacher; football – Kade Osborn, Drew Blacker, Jevin Dean, Drew Duarte, Corbin Rios, Mason Robertson, Aaron Greiger, Jack Haynes, Keaton Huber and Zach Skinner; and volleyball – Keyra Fisher, Caydence Rios, and Isabelle Anthrop.

Letter Plaque (six letter winners)

Layne Snyder, Rebekah Lloyd, Caylnn Fearnow, Shelby Myers, Sadie Smith, Autumn Anes, Alyssa Lukasik and Emma McKinney.


Cross country – Melody Tolley, Rebekah Lloyd, Nicole Burke, Zoe Beard, Logan Barrett, Tony Perez, Brody Cooke, Wesley Whitlock and Christian Matias; football – Brock Fingerle, Brant Joseph and Jacob Fullerton; girls golf – Tatum Neal and Emma Price; and volleyball – Alyssa Lukasik, Kylie Rapp and Kylee Maish. Honorable mention – football – Sam Gonzalez and Coltyn Vandegriff; and volleyball – Sarah Schoonveld and Jalynn Gleb.

Academic all-conference

Cheerleading – Caylynn Fearnow and Mallory Robertson; cross country – Nicole Burke; football – Caiden Maish, Brant Joseph and Thomas Schilling; girls golf – Tatum Neal, Layne Snyder and Emily Kirkpatrick; and volleyball – Kylie Rapp and Sarah Schoonveld.

Individual team award winners

Football – Jacob Fullerton (offensive most valuable player), Coltyn Vandegriff (defensive MVP), Sam Gonzalez (sportsmanship award) and Dakoda Black (most improved).

Volleyball – Alyssa Lukasik (MVP, most blocks and most kills), Lexi Collins (most improved), Kylee Maish (sportsmanship award and most digs), Sarah Schoonveld (most aces) and Kylie Rapp (most assists).

Boys and girls cross country – Logan Barrett (MVP), Wesley Whitlock (most improved), Christian Matias (sportsmanship award), Melody Tolley (MVP and sportsmanship award) and Zoe Beard (most improved).

Girls golf – Tatum Neal (MVP), Emma Price (most improved) and Layne Snyder (sportsmanship award).