Login NowClose 
Sign In to ftimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Distinguished Young Woman to be chosen Saturday

Times staff

Four county high school students will compete this Saturday for the opportunity at scholarship funds and to represent the county as the 2019 Distinguished Young Woman of Clinton County.

Participants in the program are Clinton Prairie High School’s Josie Mattingly, Katelyn Ramsey and Mallory Robertson and Clinton Central’s Olivia Wyrick. The program will begin at 7 p.m. at the Frankfort High School auditorium, with $3,000 in college scholarships to be determined during the evening.

Those competing will be evaluated by a panel of three judges in five categories – scholastics, interview, talent, fitness and self-expression. Scholastics and the interview portions will comprise 25 percent of judging each, with talent (20 percent) and fitness and self-expression (15 percent each).

“The participant selected as the Distinguished Young Woman of Clinton County will advance to the state level at the Distinguished Young Women of Indiana in Kokomo in February 2019, where she will join with other representatives from across the state in competing for cash scholarships and the opportunity to represent the program as the Distinguished Young Woman of Indiana,” a press release notes.

The Distinguished Young Women program was founded in Mobile, Alabama in 1958 and is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls, the release states. During its 59 years, more than 745,000 young women have participated in the program, which has provided more than $106 million in cash scholarships and $1.1 billion college granted scholarship opportunities to participants at all levels.

The program previously was known as America’s Junior Miss prior to changing its name in 2010.

“The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent,” the release states. “National sponsors include Mobile County, City of Mobile, Wintzell’s Oyster House, Evonik, Encore Rehabilitation, Alabama Power Foundation Master Boat Builders, Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Alabama Media Group and Regions Financial Corporation.”

For more information on Distinguished Young Women of Clinton County contact ClintonIN@distinguishedyw.org. For more information on the national organization, visit www.DistinguishedYW.org.