Login NowClose 
Sign In to ftimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Lopez named Police Officer of the Year

OFFICER OF THE YEAR: Marisol Lopez was named Frankfort Police Department Officer of the Year for 2018 at Saturday's annual awards ceremony at 51 West in Frankfort.

By AARON KENNEDY - akennedy@ftimes.com

Marisol Lopez was named Officer of the Year for the Frankfort Police Deparment in 2018 while Captain James Skinner and Lieutenant Cesar Munoz each received the Chief’s Distinguished Supervisor Award on Saturday at the department’s annual awards ceremony at 51 West.

According to Frankfort Police Chief Troy Bacon, the Officer of the Year award is given to an officer whose efforts go above and beyond normal duties and requirements involving outstanding performance, professionalism, superior judgment, sensitivity and leadership.

“Officer Lopez is very deserving of this award,” Bacon said. “She displays a strong dedication to leadership, service and professionalism. She performs her job with integrity and cares deeply about the citizens she serves. Marisol is a proactive leader on shift and is always willing to help without being asked. She is an asset to our department.”

Lopez joined the FPD on Nov. 24, 2014.

Captain James Skinner and Lieutenant Cesar Munoz were awarded the 2018 Chief’s Distinguished Supervisor Award.

“Captain Skinner and Lieutenant Munoz worked as a team last year to lead, manage and inspire their squads,” Bacon said. “Both reflected the vision and mission of the department in their day-to-day operations.”

Skinner joined the FPD on Feb. 18, 1980, and Munoz joined on Sept. 10, 2012.

Officers receiving perfect attendance recognition for 2018 were Captain James Skinner, Captain Jacob Myers, Officer Michael Cesare, Officer Glenn Talbot, Narcotics Detective Chad Walker and Officer Christopher Salaba.