Login NowClose 
Sign In to ftimes.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Prairie honors its winter athletes

1 / 5
PRAIRIETTES: Major award winners for the Prairiettes dance team during Monday’s Clinton Prairie winter sports banquet included, from left, Kylie Rapp, most improved; Layne Snyder, most valuable dancer; and Kaela Erwin, sportsmanship.
2 / 5
WRESTLING: Major award winners for wrestling during Monday's Clinton Prairie winter sports banquet included, from left, Jamie Escareno, mental attitude; Caiden Maish, most improved; and Sean Patrick, most valuable wrestler.
3 / 5
BOYS BASKETBALL: Major award winners for boys basketball during Monday's Clinton Prairie winter awards banquet included, from left, Jacob Fullerton, mental attitude, Kody Gibson, most improved; and Grant McGraw, most valuable player.
4 / 5
GIRLS BASKETBALL: Major award winners for the girls basketball team during Monday's Clinton Prairie winter sports banquet included, from left, Liz Perez, sportsmanship; Hadley Wilson, most improved; and Tatum Neal, most outstanding player.
5 / 5
CHEER: Major award winners for the cheerleading team during Monday’s winter sports banquet, from left, included Adri Isaacs, most valuable cheerleader; Shylnn Brown, most improved; and Mallory Robertson, sportsmanship.

BY ANDREW KRULL - akrull@ftimes.com

Clinton Prairie honored its student-athletes during its winter sports banquet on Monday evening, with athletic director Brian Eaton highlighting the 84 athletes that participated this winter and their accomplishments.

“Right now in the all-sports (Hoosier Heartland Conference) standings (for the year), we are fifth in boys and we are leading the way in girls,” he noted of the conference award for the entire sports calendar.

Eaton identified one conference team championship, an individual champion, six all-conference athletes and two academic all-conference athletes.

“We did not have individual records broken, but I did find it interesting that we did have someone pass another person up on this stage for all-time scoring in girls basketball,” he said. “Which means coach (Amie Anthrop) is now in fourth place, great job Tatum (Neal).”

After thanking many groups and individuals who help keep the sports programs going with little public recognition, Eaton also highlighted how the athletes represented the school during the season.

“Rarely do I get anything about a student-athlete doing something wrong, it's always positive stuff coming my way,” he said. “It doesn't sound like very many athletic directors around the state have that. So, thank you for all that you do as well.”

After concluding his remarks and brief presentations by each coach, the athletes were called to the stage to receive various awards. Those are detailed below.

Major team awards

Major award winners for teams participating in winter sports included: boys basketball – Grant McGraw, most valuable player, Kody Gibson, most improved, and Jacob Fullerton, mental attitude; girls basketball, Tatum Neal, most outstanding player, Hadley Wilson, most improved, and Liz Perez, sportsmanship; wrestling, Sean Patrick, most valuable wrestler, Caiden Maish, most improved, and Jamie Escareno, mental attitude; cheerleading, Adri Isaacs, most valuable cheerleader, Shylynn Brown, most improved, and Mallory Robertson, mental attitude; and, Prairiettes (dance team), Layne Snyder, most valuable dancer, Kylie Rapp, most improved, and Kaela Erwin, sportsmanship.

Other major awards

Although the awards may have been presented at an earlier date, several athletes were recognized for all-conference or all-state recognition. Those included IBCA All-State honorable mention (girls basketball, Tatum Neal), Hoosier Heartland Conference All-Conference recognition (boys basketball, Bailey Good and Grant McGraw; girls basketball, Tatum Neal, Emma McKinney and Tynlie Neal; and wrestling, Caiden Maish), honorable mention all-conference (boys basketball, Austin Gibson and Brandon Mosson; and girls basketball, Katie Blacker and Rebekah Lloyd); academic all-conference – senior with 3.5 GPA after seven semesters (girls basketball, Tatum Neal; and wrestling, Caiden Maish); and ICGSA Academic All-State honorable mention (girls basketball, Tatum Neal).

Eaton also recognized HHC champions in the girls basketball team and Maish in wrestling. Maish and Patrick were noted as state regional qualifiers, with Maish additionally recognized for qualifying for the semistate.

Other awards

First letter-winners

Athletes winning their first athletic letters (including managers) were: boys basketball, Trevor Funk, Kody Gibson, Emily Mosson and Kelsie Clendenning; girls basketball, Tynlie Neal, Kayla Martin, Liz Perez and Kaitlyn Jarrett; wrestling, Ashton Wright, Braeden Balser, David Lashbrook, Parker Minks, Jason Stevens, Emily Escareno and Shy Gordan; and Prairiettes, Jazmine Chasteen.

Six-letter plaques

Six-letter plaque honorees included Sam Gonzalez, Caiden Maish, Brant Joseph and Katie Blacker.

Nine-letter blankets

Nine-letter blanket honorees were Mallory Robertson and Tatum Neal.

Prairie Pride Award

Clinton Prairie recently began a team award called Prairie Pride. For a team to qualify, they must finish in the top three in the HHC or win a sectional, show respect for opponents and officials with no coach, player or fan ejectments during the season, perform at least one community service activity, hold a camp, clinic or other activity to promote the growth of the program and carry a cumulative 3.0 GPA or higher. Qualifying teams included both basketball squads and the cheerleading team.

Eaton noted the GPAs for each team, including cheerleading (3.92), Prairiettes (3.83), girls basketball (3.7), boys basketball (3.39) and wrestling (2.98, just below the 3.0 threshold).

“These are very impressive numbers and I'm very proud of that,” he said. “Student comes first in student-athlete.”