It is time for residents of Clinton County to submit nominations for The Times’ Citizen of the Year award. The 2021 iteration of the award will be presented during the annual State of the Chamber luncheon, which begins at noon Jan. 27 at the Silver Coin Event Center located at 3548 W. Co. Road 500 N. just northwest of Frankfort off of Ind. 39.

Nominations for The Times’ 2021 Citizen of the Year award are due by 3 p.m. Jan. 19 ahead of the annual awards luncheon.

Since 1970, The Times Citizen of the Year award has been presented to deserving residents of the county who have made a positive impact on their community. Last year, The Times broke with tradition and presented the award to the Clinton County Health Department. Before that, the award was presented to Shan Sheridan (2019), Kevin Evans in 2018 and Steve Royer in 2017. Previous winners include Carol Price, Kim Stevens, Leroy Good, Susie Trees, Karen Miller and Dick Sutton.

To qualify for The Times Citizen of the Year award, a nominee must reside in Clinton County and have made a positive impact within the county through their investment of time, work and/or leadership.

If you believe you know of a person who deserves consideration for the award, your nomination must be written in 500 words or less and include your name and phone number so that The Times may reach you for more information. Your nomination may be sent via email to Editor Aaron Kennedy at or to our general news account at with “Citizen of the Year” in the subject line. Nominations may also be dropped in our mail slot at 211 N. Jackson St., Frankfort, IN 46041. Your nomination letter may be published in part or in full and also read aloud during the awards ceremony. Try to make as strong of a case as possible why your nominee is deserving of The Times Citizen of the Year award.

The presentation of The Times Citizen of the Year award will be just one part of the Clinton County Chamber of Commerce’s luncheon. The Chamber will recognize individuals, businesses and organizations that went above and beyond in 2021.